Featured Events

Steelfest 2017

Swedenrock 2017

Swedenrock 2017


Album Reviews: 11989
DVD/Blu-ray Reviews: 397
Book Reviews: 401
Interviews: 1740
Concert Reviews: 1435

Share |

Other swag here
metal rules swag

Wolves Reign
May 2017
Released: 2017, AFM Records
Rating: 2.0/5
Reviewer: Erich

Mark Sweeney and Mike Voss return with their all-star studded project’s fourth album since 2011. WOLVES REIGN resembles past efforts in that there is a long list of respectable musicians contributing to the project. None would call this a band, and knowing none of the material will be performed live on tour absolutely detracts from the overall ranking.

“Falling” is the leading track, sporting a sound and approach established over a decade earlier by CRASHDÏET but delivered in a generic and uninspired way. “Blood Brothers” is probably one of the most egregious efforts on the album with its faux native American vocal melodies and complete lack of authenticity. In fact, there is no need to go past this track. WOLVES REIGN is offensive in its attempts to be inoffensive, devoid of personality or substance and a vehicle for nothing more than a cash grab. The laundry list of guest musicians is barely noticeable, and the sound is highly polished and overproduced to the hilt.

Don Dokken sorta pioneered this type of approach with his UP FROM THE ASHES album, proving that assembling a list of accomplished musicians does not guarantee memorable tunes when said artists are merely going through the motions. Musicians have been getting away with this type of crap for a while, assembling an enviable list of guest musicians and writing soulless and generic melodic metal to wide acclaim. Can’t fault WolfPakk for following what has been a winning formula, but hopefully people will be perceptive enough to realize this is just tepid and lifeless music, deserving of nothing but your disdain.
Track Listing

1. Falling
2. Run All Night
3. Blood Brothers
4. Wolves Reign
5. No Remorse
6. Inside The Animal Mind
7. Spirit Of The Hawk
8. The 10 Commandments
9. Mother Earth
10. Tomorrowland
11. I’m Onto You


Mark Sweeney - Vocals
Michael Voss - Vocals

Guest Musicians:
Biff Byford (Saxon), Ronnie Atkins (Pretty Maids), Michael Vescera (ex- Yngwie Malmsteen), Tony Harnell (TNT), Oliver Hartmann (Avantasia), Jioti Parcharidis (Victory), Steve Grimmett (Grim Reaper), Pasi Rantanen (Thunderstone), Claus Lessmann (Phantom V), Danny Vaughn (Tyketto), Andy Lickford (Lickford)

Timo Somers (Delain), Brad Gillis (Night Ranger), George Lynch (ex-Dokken), Alen Brentini (A. Gabalier), Jen Majura (Evanescence), Chris Holmes (ex-W.A.S.P.)

Rudi Sarzo (Ozzy Osbourne), Marc Lynn (Gotthard), Volker Krawczak (Axel Rudi Pell), Michael Müller (Herman Frank)

Alex Holzwarth (Avantasia), Gereon Homan



Other reviews

» Cry Wolf
by Celtic Bob

» Rise Of The Animal
by JP

» Wolves Reign
by Erich

Next review: » X.Kernel - Face the Truth
Previous review: » Weregoat - Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication

Home | About | Staff | Advertise With Us | Staff Openings | Donations

Content is © 2009-2012 All Rights Reserved.
Graphics by Hammerblaze studio.